1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Resetting 4 string to BEAD

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by CMECHO1, Aug 16, 2014.

1. CMECHO1

CMECHO1

Aug 14, 2014
    NC
    I have been a bassist for roughly 18 years. In that time I've tuned to every configuration one can imagine to create everything from certain band's like Soundgarden's often less-used C#GC#G to anything that will create an interesting noisy musical discord for my mainly industrial music projects, then right back to E standard or Drop D to play the actual notation. So, tired hands aside, I've found through the years the lower end-like off a cliff-suits me and am considering a permanent switch. Now I realize using the tuning dropped a half or whole step on 5-strings is a relatively popular technique (some would say fad but....eh, it's kinda like Ibanez 7 and 8 strings....always been there whether we noticed or not) among more brutal and technical metal bands, the best example being Meshuggah, but Between the Buried and Me, The Black Dahlia Murder, and Eyehategod are also good ones. I being on the industrial end of things, preferred Ben Green from Godflesh. Anyhow, a local respected bass tech in a music shop says he'd be happy to cut a brand new nut, bore and adjust the Hi-Mass bridge, and reoutfit the strings and notation to B.E.A.D. losing the high G, which I really only used for bass solo-y parts or low-high quick contrast. I can't afford a 5 string so let's back pocket that response, BUT I'm hesitant about what is essentially a complete reformat of my favorite and primary bass, even though it would make it that much more "mine".