Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Resizing a Warwick neck

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by PionFou, May 2, 2005.

1. Hi,

First off I have to say this is the first time I post here. I found out about TB only a few days ago, read through the threads a lot but could not find what I was looking for, so here I go!

I bought a used Warwick Corvette standard (fretless) on ebay a few months back. I have small hands and the neck is uncomfortable to me. It is too thick. I have 2 choices: sell my Corvette or have the neck sized down a bit. I love the sound of it so I'm not that willing about selling it...

My question: has anyone here ever had a Warwick neck resized? How much could you get off? Did it change the tone of the bass? Does it change the overall value of the bass if ever, down the line, I do want to sell it?

I have been playing for 15+ years on a Jazz size neck. Could it be possible to trim the Warwick neck down to a Jazz like thickness?

Any insight that could help me make up my mind would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks a lot for your replies.

2. Adam Barkley

Adam Barkley Mayday!

Aug 26, 2003
    Jackson, MS
    Don't do it. For several reasons:

1. It will kill resale by at least 50%
    2. Will cost in the hundreds
    3. Likely weaken the neck.

Sell it instead, Build yourself a Warmoth using Bubinga for the body and Wenge for the neck. Using MEC pickups and should have a tone comparable to your Corvette.

What year is it, I might be interested if you decide to sell.

3. WordShaman

WordShaman

Apr 26, 2005
    I went from a Warwick FNA Jazzman 5 to a Fender American for that reason alone.

4. tekhna

tekhna

Nov 7, 2004

1. The Resale might go up. Many many people love the Warwick sound, and not the neck.
    2. You can do it yourself very cheaply if you have any woodworking skills.
    3. I doubt anything could weaken those necks.