Rest-strokes, jaco, etc.

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by jzucker, Mar 17, 2005.

1. jzucker

Feb 3, 2005
    Cleveland, OH
    Hey guys,

I'm relatively new to bass but have been playing and teaching jazz guitar for 25-30 years. I have a book out called "Sheets of Sound for Guitar" the plug but I just want folks to know I'm not a beginner.

On guitar, when I want to play fingerstyle (no nails) I alternate thumb,index,thumb,middle, etc. I use free-strokes for this technique and I can play relatively fast. For example, I can play 8ths at 300 bpm on guitar using this technique.

Anyway, I've been using a similar technique on the bass as opposed to strictly playing index,middle with rest strokes like most folks. At first, I thought the rest strokes made for a stronger groove but now that I've been playing around with the technique on bass for a while I think I'm getting just as good a feel. For example, playing jaco's groove from "Come-on Come over" or "Speak like a Child" feels really good with this technique.

The other advantage is that I can use the heel of my right hand to mute the strings.

Just wondering if anyone else plays like this without using rest strokes and using a pseudo-classical-guitar technique on bass?
  2. I've read posts that you have made on other sites, usenet, etc, so I know that you are hardly a beginner. :) The fingerstyle technique that you are describing is similar to the way Matt Garrison plays. Here's an excerpt from and interview with Garrison:

Your four-finger solo technique now seems to be your standard technique in all situations, and you’re using it more musically in uptempo solos, instead of as an effect.