Restore or Burn? (1966 Kay used by doubler)

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by the elephant, Feb 5, 2005.

1. I am a full time professional tubist in a smaller symphony orchestra. I have a 1966 Kay C-1 that I got for free. I have a small amount of money tied up in the instrument itself so far (under $500 including the new strings). It needs some major work, like maybe a replacement back and new fingerboard. I work a fair amount on this old beater in a trio and have gotten to the point where I need to make some decisions.

How much money should I sink into this old bird? I mean, what is its reasonable potential as a jazz instrument?

Is back replacement and refinishing really an option? I am also a fully qualified brass repair and customization tech and know all about "polishing turds", but I do have a love for older instruments. (My tubas are all over 50 years of age, for example.) Can an old plywood bass be "stripped" and refinished, or, shall I say, SHOULD it be done?

Maybe I ought to buy something new (or used) instead?

The back is coming apart and has several chunks of the outer ply broken away. They have been gone for years and plenty of humidity has worked its way between plies. The fingerboard is the original rosewood one and it buzzes badly on many notes on the E as well as in other places. The bridge is a bit warped and not adjustable, the tuners are not too good, the finish is bad, the bouts are coming away from the back and top in several places, etc. But the neck seems to be straight and the bass makes what I consider to be a very nice sound.

So what do you think?

Sell it?
    Fix it?
    Cope with it?
    Burn it?

Please forgive my posting here, but searches did me no good, and (as a repairman) I wanted to find out about restoration from real luthiers. I hope that I am in the right place.

Regards, and TIA!

the elephant
  2. john turner

john turner You don't want to do that. Trust me. Staff Member Administrator

Mar 14, 2000
    atlanta ga