Restoring my bass with James Condino

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by bainpent, May 30, 2011.

1. Semi-newbie here, maybe this will interest some of you folks who do some of your own repair and/or restoration (or are as nerdy about this stuff as I am). Sorry for all the writing, but I wanted to put as much in as possible so as much could be used by people as possible.

I just got back from a week long workshop with James Condino, a regular here on TalkBass. It was going to just be a setup workshop, but it turned into a much larger project. I initially called him back in January to see if he had any use for an apprentice, which he didn't, but we scheduled a week for him to show me some setup stuff and also some wood bending techniques which he uses on the mandolins he makes - just to get me up and running. We were going to use my old 5/8 Juzek (actually my main gigging bass) as a test subject. In the intervening months my bass was exposed to various climatic conditions which resulted in the bottom bouts busting open about two weeks before I was to arrive in Asheville, where James lives. He was flexible when I told him, though, and we figured we could use the time we'd already scheduled to do a restoration instead.

I came down to beautiful Asheville and we got to work. James had set me up with some really awesome people to stay with, and after I'd gone hiking a little I was all ready to dive in to some bass repair. It turned out my endpin block had come loose, and due to many previous less-than-informed repair attempts, the inside of the bass looked like "a garbage heap" as James said. We went over what we could see of the bass, and made a plan: leave the neck as it was, take the top off, clean out the insides, put new cleats on, put the top back on, and then set it up. A little more work than initially anticipated, but way more learning opportunity than I'd initially hoped for.