Restoring/Repairing the edges of an upright bass

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner [DB]' started by CathyB, Jun 9, 2021.

1. CathyB

CathyB

Jun 8, 2021
    My Kay has been a lot of places and played a lot of tunes, and the laying down over the years has taken a toll on the edges. Not significant damage, just wear and some small small chips and delamination at the stress points.

I would like to restore what I can, and would like to re-glue and strengthen the bouts where they meet the ground. I'm concerned about using something that will be too brittle (super glue was suggested) that will create a mess for the next owner. Due to it's age, I want to preserve as much of the value as an "antique" as as a kick ass instrument.

Does anyone have recommendations or has anyone tried this? Or can you suggest who may give me advice?

2. TFM94

TFM94

Aug 24, 2020
    Finland
    Disclaimer: I'm not an expert on upright basses, but I have dealt with delamination and chips.

I would not use superglue to fix delaminations or cracks, because it can be brittle and difficult to clean up around the glue joint. In the true antique spirit, I would use hot hide glue or fish glue (if you need longer open time). When hot, hide glue can easily penetrate smaller cracks. As a bonus, you can clean up any squeezeout with a damp cloth. I don't know how old it is exactly, but chances are that the original luthier also used some kind of hide glue.

CathyB likes this.
  3. I second this. Take it to a violin shop to have it done right, but if you try it yourself hot hide glue is the way to go. Superglue or wood glue will create a problem for the next person who has to work on it.

CathyB likes this.
  4. Steven Ayres

Steven Ayres Supporting Member

Mar 11, 2007
    Northern Arizona
    This process is recently discussed and illustrated in this thread.