Returning to action, making the switch from upright... help me find an ax!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by bassthumpa, Aug 31, 2004.

Which Bass would you recommend?

Poll closed Sep 7, 2004.
  1. Ibanez SR500

5 vote(s)
  2. Fender Aerodyne II Jazz

10 vote(s)
  3. Fender Deluxe Active Jazz

22 vote(s)
  4. Other

13 vote(s)
  1. bassthumpa

Aug 31, 2004
    Austin, TX
    After nearly 12 years of inactivity, this musician has had enough. Its time for me to do what I've always longed to do... get back on the playing scene! I must apologize ... I know you guys get a million of these "I'm a newbie, help me pick a starter rig" threads... but this one is a bit different for me.

I'm not a newbie when it comes to playing bass... but I am when it comes to bass guitar. In my high school playing days I was an upright man, starting in orchestra and moving on to jazz. I really enjoyed playing and wanted to make the switch to guitar, but class loads soon ended my playing days, and I could never seem to make the time to pick it back up ever since.

Well enough of that crap, I'm ready to get going again. It shouldn't be too much of a struggle to get some of the basics back musically speaking, however I know that the switch from upright to guitar isn't a small one, especially after a several year gap. No matter though, I'll get it with practice.

Now to the meat of the issue... I need a bass! I don't want a POS starter either, but I can't afford to start off with a top-notch dream guitar either. I'll be playing a lot of gospel/jazz, so I'm gonna need something with some fatness (without being muddy), good for some thumpin'... Marcus-y, as you guys would say. I'd love to get my paws on a MM-Jazz 4, just because I know it has the sounds that I want... but I digress.