Reunited, and it feels so good...

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by SlingBlader, Jul 22, 2018.

1. SlingBlader

SlingBlader

Oct 19, 2013
    I started playing bass around 1979 or 80. At that time, I was playing a crappy Japanese, Aspen Jazz bass copy. It had a plywood body and was just awful; but certainly good enough to begin learning.

In 1981 or 82... (my memory is a bit fuzzy) my parents bought me a brand new Peavey T-40 bass. It was a fairly uncommon configuration with the tobacco sunburst and rosewood fretboard. I was in heaven.

Time marched on and styles changed. I began using other basses, but still held on to my prized Peavey. I moved to Nashville in 1990. I was playing full time, but still had not figured out how to budget and handle my money. I had a deadbeat roommate that stuck me with a huge phone bill. Long story short, I had to pawn my T-40 to pay my phone bill and I ended up losing the bass.

I felt incredibly guilty and have regretted it ever since. I've had an alert set up on Reverb for quite some time and a T-40 in the same configuration finally came up. I paid more than I wanted to pay and the condition wasn't as good as I wanted, but I finally got another one last week.

I completely tore it down. I cleaned the parts and did a light rub out on the body and pick guard to get rid of the light scratches and grime. The bass was obviously stored in damp conditions as the chrome parts are badly pitted. I gave it a light fret level, crown and polish. Installed new strings and set it up.

It still needs a few tweaks, but I feel like I have an old buddy back. Granted, it's an old buddy still wearing bell-bottom corduroy pants; but an old buddy that is loud and ballsy as all hell. Just thought I'd share. :D

6jLLu4k.jpg
    akaciMI.jpg

2. Stumbo

Stumbo Guest

Feb 11, 2008
    Nice job!

SlingBlader and bholder like this.
  3. Very cool. I still have my first bass. Happy to see yours, or a reasonable representation of it, come back.