1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Reverb.com? Trustworthy or not?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Ritchie_Darling, Apr 8, 2015.

1. Ritchie_Darling

Ritchie_Darling Bass @ AZ Supporting Member

May 22, 2006
    Arizona
    Impulse buyer...
    I have zero experience with this company.

However, I am considering a purchase.

Are these guys trustworthy or not?

Just curious.....

2. petrus61

petrus61 Supporting Member

There are some deals to be had, but for the most part the prices are insane, as are most of the shipping rates. Its actually not a retailer, but a clearinghouse of sorts for anyone who wants to sell there for a 3% fee. That's why the prices are all over the place. I've also seen some pretty beat up gear and MANY refurbs being sold as new there. Much of it is perfectly fine but there is a lot of junk to parse through.

Acoustic356 likes this.
  3. bholder

bholder Affable Sociopath Supporting Member

Sep 2, 2001
    central NY state
    Received a gift from Sire* (see sig)
    Well, Reverb is kind of like a specialized ebay - that is, you have to ask yourself whether you trust the overall setup as well as the individual dealer your buying from. They do have a similar ratings systems as well. I've used it with no problems for a couple of big ticket items (from reputable dealers I researched before bidding).

4. bholder

bholder Affable Sociopath Supporting Member

Sep 2, 2001
    central NY state
    Received a gift from Sire* (see sig)
    Yeah, prices can get nuts, as I said, know the dealer, Reverb is just a esales auction platform / service like ebay or alibaba or even amazon.

5. Gorn

Gorn

Dec 15, 2011
    Queens, NY
    Sellers have ratings just like here. I've bought and sold there without issues.

6. marko138

marko138

May 24, 2013
    Perry County PA