Reverb or Delay?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by sethlow3, Sep 3, 2010.

1. Which in your experience is more usable in a live situation? Reverb or delay? I am leaning on going with an EHX Cathedral or SMMWH. I really want to go with one or the other, but can't quite decide which would be more valuable live. The SMMWH has a loop which looks tempting and they're both programmable. I am more than open to other good reverbs too as I am new to effects.

I play a lot of 80s pop, rock, and country for my day job and Jazz, newer rock, and R&B in my spare time. :)

2. moggieman

moggieman

Jan 25, 2009
    doesn't look like there is room for a whole lot of creativity with all of the straight "rock" categories, so i'd say go with reverb. it really does add a lot when everything cuts out and it's just bass.

but if you're looking to toy around and be creative, i'd suggest delay, or something with both delay/reverb.

3. I'd go with delay. I have a cheap Artec delay, and although I don't use it as a delay should with the band, I found some sweet settings a while ago that makes it sound like I have some sort of reverb/rounded tremolo. it makes wonders for my tone when I'm doing simple, "sad" lines.

4. RickenBoogie

RickenBoogie

Jul 22, 2007
    Dallas, TX
    A delay is more versatile, since you can get reverb from it, where the reverb will not get you any echo.

5. Wyrm74

Wyrm74

Oct 28, 2007
    DFW, Texas
    My MXR Carbon Copy delay can get very close to sounding like reverb, close enough I've never bought a reverb pedal!

6. Deluge Of Sound

Deluge Of Sound Inactive

Nov 8, 2007
    Maine/Vermont
    Live?

A delay.

7. Again, for live, a good delay is the better choice based on versatility and cut - verb can be achieved through the board.

8. Jerry J

Jerry J Supporting Member

Mar 27, 2000
    P-town, OR
    I was going to suggest the CC also. Plus you get a delay with your reverb.:D