1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Reverb pedal conundrum

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Mingus Addict, Apr 19, 2009.

1. I am looking to buy a reverb pedal and I'm pretty much nowhere near deciding so I thought I'd ask for some help. First I guess I'll describe how I'll be using it. I recently started playing with a Jane's Addiction tribute band, and I'll be using it with them. I use reverb on the songs "Summertime Rolls" and "Three Days". Right now I'm using an old zoom multi-effect for reverb and chorus and I keep it in a wobo bypass looper. The reverb is most important in the song "Three Days". About 8:15 into the song everything drops out except for the bass which is totally washed out in chorus and reverb. I haven't been able to find a link to this song online yet but hopefully some of you are familiar with the part I'm talking about. I should note that while the zoom isn't cutting it for me on sound quality, I like being able to have presets, and since I use the wobo I can scroll through them mid song.

I will also be using the reverb in an original band. I can already imagine some parts in some of our mellower songs where some subtle reverb will be really nice. I also have a use for it in mind in a newer song we are doing. I will be playing a very fuzzy synthy pattern (octaver and gated fuzz) While I think a reverb with a static setting would work, I think it would be even better to have expression pedal control of the reverb mix. I think I could also use this expression control with the Jane's band in lieu of having a pedal with presets.