Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Reverend Rumblefish String Recommendations...

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Slater, Oct 6, 2003.

1. Slater

Slater Bye Millen! Hello?

Apr 17, 2000
    The Great Lakes State
    I just received a Rumblefish XL that I purchased on eBay. It sounds HUGE with a lot of low-end! I like it :D !

However, I believe it still has the factory SIT strings on it, and I don't really care for them. They're not bad, but I've liked other strings a lot more.

I'm limiting my search to nickel roundwounds. I'm really looking for some strings that will add presence to the sound of this bass.

Right now, I'm leaning towards trying some Thomastik-Infeld Power Bass strings. I've never used them before, so now might be the time.

Any help you TB'rs can offer will be greatly appreciated.

2. Harpo

Harpo

Feb 1, 2001
    Kings Park NY
    TI Flats are the way to go I have the same bass with the Standard Tone Control and It Sound Huge with the Flats on it .

3. I like Ernie Ball Slinkys, .45-.105, on my Rumblefish. Been usin' 'em on that bass since day one, almost five years ago. No complaints! But, you can't go wrong with Powerbass strings, either. I use those on my Curbow and I love the way they sound.

4. Slater

Apr 17, 2000
    The Great Lakes State
    I became frugal and purchased some Ernie Ball (pink package) Super Slinky's (half the price of the TI's).

They're not installed yet, but I've used the Super Slinky's many times before and know what to expect from them, and If I don't like them on the Rumblefish, at least I'll know which direction to go next...

(I also purchased some DR Sunbeams [which I've never tried before] for my '60s Jazz bass) :) .

5. watspan

watspan Supporting Member

Nov 25, 2002
    madison, wi