Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Review: Hal Leonard Bass Method Complete Edition

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Daniel L., Sep 14, 2005.

1. Daniel L.

Daniel L. Guest

Aug 30, 2002
    This will be the first in what will, hopefully, be a number of book reviews I'm planning on doing. I'm going to try and keep them concise but if you have any questions I will be happy to try and answer them.

The Hal Leonard Bass Method Complete Edition is actually 3 books in one. Taking you from complete beginner, to being able to form your own lines. You start off learning to read music, slowly adding different techniques and theory, continually building on what you have learned. It integrates each new concept into exercises and play along songs. This is the most valuable aspect of these books. Putting into practice what you are learning. How many times have you learned a scale or technique only to not know how to use it? Ed Friedland has made sure that this will not happen.

Some of the things covered in these books include: Major/Minor Scales, Pentatonic Scales, Raking, Hammer Ons/Pull Offs, Slap Technique, 7th chords, Playing Off Chord Symbols, and the list goes on. The play alongs included are both challenging and fun. Ranging in style from rock, to jazz, to reggae, to country.

I had been playing bass for 3 years before I bought this book. Still, I knew my basics were weak (even though I had studied both bass and guitar privately). I had a lot of holes in my playing and didn't understand many aspects of applying basic theory. I knew I needed to start over to build the strong foundation that I would need to become a great bassist. These books give you that strong foundation.