1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Review of Gismobucks Pickup

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by wilsonn, Sep 13, 2008.

1. wilsonn

wilsonn

Sep 26, 2005
    New York
    I had seen a pickup on eBay advertised a few times and hadn't seen it reviewed here. It looked to be of the type for which there are DIY plans around on the internet. I looked into the cost of making my own and the time/learning curve involved in making my own, and decided I would try just buying this one.

The buy it now price was about $30 with shipping, but I took a chance and wound up getting it for about $25 with shipping included.

Shipping was fast and packing was fine.

Pickup comes with installation instructions which are pretty much unnecessary for anyone that has ever installed any pickup, but good to have for total novices.

As you can see on the pic, it's a simple round disc about an inch and a quarter across, with a threaded bolt to go through the bridge's wing slot or sweetheart, and a cork-covered washer and wing-nut to secure it. 188c_1. The wire coming from the pickup is not quite as thick on my unit, but don't think it really matters.

I tried every possible attachment point, including just slipping it into the wing slot. I finally settled on the round part of the wing slot, a little closer to the slot than directly on center. Even slight movement of the pickup had dramatic effect on the sound. And, the degree to which the wing-nut is turned to tighten also has a huge impact on volume and sound quality. Also, the entire wire coming from the pickup and all the way down to the 1/4" jack is microphonic, so these have to be not touching anything OR have to be tied tightly to what they are touching. I used the included cable ties to attach the jack to my G string after length.