1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Review of my new CB Bass...................

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by jacochops, Sep 23, 2006.

1. jacochops

jacochops

Jul 2, 2000
    Bryan, TX
    Good Mornin' to you all!

This is the first Saturday that I haven't had to go to an early morning rehearsal in almost 3 months! :hyper: I'm a professional percussionist and bassist, and this is the busy season for me. So, over several cups of coffee, I'm going to do a lil' review of my newly-aquired CB Bass direct from Cliff Bordwell's shop. I will have some detailed pics up by tonight or early tomorrow am, so bear with me as I go through my new aquisition with you.....

First: Construction

This bass has a Spanish Cedar core, a RIDICULOUS piece of amboyna burl for the top, and an equally-obscene piece of birdseye maple for the back. There are bloodwood accents throughout the body. The neck is a five piece neck made of 3 pieces of quartersawn maple with 2 black stringers (of which wood I do not know the origin), a nicely figured birdseye maple board, an amboyna burl headstock cap, and a bloodwood nut. The bass is a set-neck design with a deeply carved neck heel. It is a 34" scale bass, has medium-small frets and the neck has a J-bass taper. It came with a Levy's gig bag.

Second: Electronics

It is fitted with an Aguilar OBP-3 preamp, with a layout of v/v/t/m/b, and a pair of Nordstrand single-coil J-pickups.

Weight: 6.7 lbs...as we say in Boston, "It's a feathah!"

Hardware:
    All Hipshot chrome (Style A bridge), and chrome barrel knobs.

Playability: