1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Ric 4001 or a new custom

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Drunkkidcon0r, Mar 4, 2008.

1. I own a 76' Rickenbacker. It is a beautiful bass, my high school dream bass. I am now in collage and have a few concerns. First of all, my ric is 10 years older than I am, and I am just starting the early phases of my long term musical career (even though ive been playing for 6 years, i feel like everything before now was just warm up). Although my ric should keep kicking for many more years assuming i take care of it, there is a level of fear experienced every time i get on stage. I dont want to be afraid of damaging my instrument... I like to dance too much for that.

My options are to keep my ric and play it until its death and then buy a new bass

or

Sell my ric and my gibson g-3 and buy a solid bass that will last me years to come and I don't have to worry about breaking. possibly even a custom bass tailored to my likes. (both the ric and the g-3 have characteristics i like and dislike)

If i had the money to hold on to the ric for studio prepossess only and gig with something else, that would be ideal. Unfortunately I am a college student, so this isnt an option. I need a gig bass that can handle the road. and part of me feels my ric should be in the hands of someone who can give it that respect and care, like a collector, to insure this beautiful instrument lasts the test of time.

let me know your opinions! im rather interested it what people here have to say, i know there are a lot of ric lovers and non-lovers on this forum.

2. Barkless Dog

Barkless Dog Barkless to a point

Jan 19, 2007
    Sell the G-3, they can go for close to a $1000 and buy a really nice used Peavy or Lakland Skyline. Used you can get a really nice bass around $1000. No need for a new one since your going to be beating on it anyway.