Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Ric 4003 opinions?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by GabeN, Feb 27, 2006.

1. GabeN

GabeN

Feb 27, 2006
    Chugiak, AK
    Hi, I'm new here and instead of posting a 'hello' thread and a question thread I'll just make one for both.

My story: Last spring I borrowed my buddy's bass for a couple practice sessions with a guitarist buddy. I started playing the thing and it was so fun I couldnt put it down. Well, I still have this Ibanez GR200 that I'm thumpin around on for a year because the guy that lent it to me doesnt play anymore. So, I'm hooked on bass and I've taught myself to play metallica and am working on plucking with 3 fingers and learning some bass solos.

Sooooo....

I am starting to hate this accursed low-end crapper because it sucks and was cruising for a new bass. I came across a little pawn shop with a Rickenbaker 4003 hangin on the wall. I was informed that they would let it go for 400 bucks. The only hangup is that it has a warped neck (If it did I couldnt tell it from eyeballing down the neck).

Okay, so I really like the feel of it and it's super-nice playing. The only problem is that the Metallica stuff I'm playing now often calls for 21 frets. The Ric is only 20 frets. My favorite song as of now is Anesthesia (pulling teeth) and it's peppered with 21 fret bends and nice things.

Bottomline: should I get the Ric? Will it be suitable for metal or is it just for mellower stuff?

2. tplyons

tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    As far as getting that particular Ric, I wouldn't be able to comment without seeing the particular bass.

In regards to being suitable for metal? They're great. Arch Enemy bassist uses a pair of them I think. Cliff did (even though they were modified with a Gibson humbucker and Jazz pickup) but he got by on them.