1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Rickenbacker 4003 - E string hits the pickup

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by CptPopsicles, Mar 22, 2013.

1. CptPopsicles

CptPopsicles

Mar 22, 2013
    I've been playing bass for off and on for 15 years, ranging from MIM Precision and Jazz Basses and a 6 string before that, but nothing that would be considered high end. I felt it was time to upgrade now that I can afford it.

Local music store has a used Rickenbacker 4003, early 2000s. First time played one and it sounds like the tone I've always wanted - straight out of Moving Pictures. The A D G strings sounded amazing even on a practice amp but when I played the E string it sounds like pud. If I hit it with even the slightest aggression, the string hits the neck pick up. The other strings I can wail away on and they seem to sound better harder I attack.

I would have put down the 1500 bucks right there if it wasn't for the E string issue. We tried raising the action a little but it just made it harder to play, and it still hit the pickup. :meh:

Is this a common issue on the 4003s with some fix or do I just have to play one string super light? That would be a deal breaker.

Any input would be appreciated!

2. Can the pickup not be lowered at all on the E string end?

Shane

3. CptPopsicles

CptPopsicles

Mar 22, 2013
    I don't know if it can be lowered - the guy at the store (guitar guy) said it couldn't be lowered any more unless he adjusted the springs or something. He seemed more interested in making the sale and pressuring me than fixing the problem though.

4. Kingbreaker

Kingbreaker

Feb 12, 2013
    $1500?

Avoid. You can get a new one under warranty for about ten bucks more.

5. RJHall

RJHall

Dec 25, 2012
    New York City