Rickenbacker 4004L... is it worth it?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by asilentbass, Sep 25, 2003.

1. I've been playing for about 7 years and I've decided it's time for an equipment upgrade. I play on a Dean Edge 4 right now and though i like the playability if it, the intonation is off, the stock pickups suck and the wood won't hold the strap screws.

I hear everyone rave about different types of basses and I've been looking around. I'm thinking of saving my pennies and going all out for the Ric 4004L. I like the fat lows with a good treble punch (that new string sound).

I'm playing through an Ampeg B2R and Ampeg 4x10 cab (which I want to upgrade to a biamp soon too). What are everyone's feelings. Should I drop the cash or look elsewhere?
  2. when it comes to rickenbacer I think you would be best off going with their 4003 model. I have never had any expiearence with any of the 4004 stuff but the 4003's are some of the best basses around in my opinion.
  3. Scott D

Scott D

Apr 21, 2003
    Minneapolis, MN
    Definatly go for the 4003-the other stuff is just non-rickenbacker... (well, it is, but it doesn't look like a Ric at all...) But definatly go for the 4003! i totally love mine-sounds good through any amp. plays like butta, sustains for days. I never really realized how good it was until today i was playin my friends crappy fender JP-90. But that bridge pup cover really gets in the way-so take it off. much easier you anchor on the bridge pickup surround. Also, Ric's through ampeg gear is like a match made in heaven. (check my sig....)
  4. By-Tor

Apr 13, 2000
    Sacramento, CA
    I love the 4003, I don't have any exp. with the 4004 either.

A tip on the the strap screws. You can insert some pieces of toothpick into the screw hole and then re-insert the screw. It's a good tip to know if a screw hole gets stripped.

Also there is a Ric forum which could provide some needed info for you. I don't have the link but maybe somebody here can provide it.