Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Rickenbacker 4004L... is it worth it?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by asilentbass, Sep 25, 2003.

1. I've been playing for about 7 years and I've decided it's time for an equipment upgrade. I play on a Dean Edge 4 right now and though i like the playability if it, the intonation is off, the stock pickups suck and the wood won't hold the strap screws.

I hear everyone rave about different types of basses and I've been looking around. I'm thinking of saving my pennies and going all out for the Ric 4004L. I like the fat lows with a good treble punch (that new string sound).

I'm playing through an Ampeg B2R and Ampeg 4x10 cab (which I want to upgrade to a biamp soon too). What are everyone's feelings. Should I drop the cash or look elsewhere?

2. when it comes to rickenbacer I think you would be best off going with their 4003 model. I have never had any expiearence with any of the 4004 stuff but the 4003's are some of the best basses around in my opinion.

3. Scott D

Scott D

Apr 21, 2003
    Minneapolis, MN
    Definatly go for the 4003-the other stuff is just non-rickenbacker... (well, it is, but it doesn't look like a Ric at all...) But definatly go for the 4003! i totally love mine-sounds good through any amp. plays like butta, sustains for days. I never really realized how good it was until today i was playin my friends crappy fender JP-90. But that bridge pup cover really gets in the way-so take it off. much easier you anchor on the bridge pickup surround. Also, Ric's through ampeg gear is like a match made in heaven. (check my sig....)

4. By-Tor

By-Tor

Apr 13, 2000
    Sacramento, CA
    I love the 4003, I don't have any exp. with the 4004 either.