Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Rickenbacker 73, a good year

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by alansan, Mar 12, 2004.

1. alansan

alansan

Mar 12, 2004
    Dublin, Ireland
    Hi everybody, I'm a forum newbie typing all the way from Dublin Ireland. Hmm you people are probably in bed...

I have a question about Rickenbacker basses. I'm considering buyng one and was wondering if they have suffered the same reduced quality due to corporate corner-cutting and marketing complacency over the years.

For example are Rickies from the 70s/80s built to a higher standard than today? Are the up-dated pick-ups on modern Rickies still capable of that charactaristic sound? Any opinions backed up by experience would be appreciated.

By the way I play a four string fretted and a five string fretless Zoot bass built by Mike Walsh of Iceni music.

2. RIC's dont suffer from quality control issues...they just suffer from a bad service dept.(from what i hear)
    I have talked to alot of RIC owners and it is very rare that something slips up with them quality wise.
    Vintage RIC's are fine to buy, you just have to inspect the neck cause older models were sometimes prone to neck problems.

3. Whafrodamus

Whafrodamus

Oct 29, 2003
    Andover, MA
    You forget that Ricks from the 70's-80's were 4001's, while today (since the mid-80's) we've had 4003's. They are both different animals, though they look the same. Different controls, tone, neck, saddle construction, pickups, etc.

4. Thornton Davis

Thornton Davis Supporting Member

Dec 11, 1999
    Toronto