Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Rickenbacker question

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by fat jonny, Jul 30, 2001.

1. fat jonny

fat jonny

Jul 8, 2000
    Columbus Ohio
    Well the main reason i started playing bass is because of a movie called cliff em all in which cliff burton plays an old ric throughout most of the movie, so the time has come for me to get one myself. I have read nothing but good things about rics and they look so damn cool my mind is made up. But the thing is i have been looking on Ebay at these and i cant decide which one to get. what is the difference between a 4001 and a 4003? I know the 4001s are older models but what else is different? Is one model better in quality that another? Is it better to get a vintage 70's ric or a newer 90's one? or does it not really matter? Thanks a lot!

2. Hey Jonny

It is my *never* :rolleyes: humble opinion that all Ric basses are incredibly high quality, wonderful instruments. The only reason I don't own one is that I am broke and the salesguy I was dealing with on a brand new Mapleglo 4003 was a sleeze... As with all basses, play it first to make sure you like how it plays and how it sounds, but I've never found a single Ric that sounded or felt inferior to any other ric (or any other bass for that matter). Maybe one day I too will find a nice old used ric that is still in one piece (the pickup cover, and all original parts) preferably in mapleglo :) MmMmmm natural wood finish.. and I will be able to bask in its glory. Good luck to you!

William

3. I am glad to see more and more players influenceed by Cliff BUrton. He played a 4001 rick and he sounded great! I would go for the 4001. But If your in a certain price range and stuck between a new and old go for the cheaper. But make sure it sounds as good a a Ric should be !!!!!!!!!

Rest in Peace Cliff

4. Thornton Davis