Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Rickenbacker string change and setup question

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by bluebyrd, Jun 7, 2003.

1. bluebyrd

bluebyrd

Jun 12, 2000
    Hi Everyone. I tried a search on this, and couldn't find anything. I just bought a new Rickenbacker 4003 bass, and just love it! My question is about string changes and setup. I plan on buying Ric strings for it, to have a backup set or two just in case. Does anyone know of a website that sells them besides the Ric website? Also, would the bass need to be intonated or otherwise setup when I change strings? What about if I decide to try a different brand of string, does the bass need to be intonated? What's the harm in not intonating a bass when changing strings? I'm new at this, so please forgive my ignorance. In the past I've played Fender basses, and have just bought Fender stings, so I didn't have to worry about this stuff. Thanks for any help.

2. geezer316

geezer316

Jan 26, 2003
    NEW HAVEN ,CT