Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Rickenbacker -- whats the deal?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by IotaNet, Oct 12, 2005.

1. IotaNet

IotaNet Supporting Member

:bag: To the Group -

I'm not trolling here (honest!) -- I am just trying to learn some things. (I also used the "Search" feature before making this post.)

That said, What is the Deal with Rickenbackers?

Let me start by saying that I'm not a professional bassist - calling me a "Weekend warrior" would be generous, at best. I'm also no youngster -- I'm well into my 40's and have been around music/musicians for a long time.

I have seen Rics here and there and obviously, they have their fans here on TB. I am curious about the attraction of this particular bass.

I realize that "beauty is in the eye of the beholder" and while thy aren't particularly attractive to me, it's obvious that somebody -- actually a whole lot of somebodys! -- think they are the dogs bollocks. (That's a nod to my British buds - look it up.)

Seriously, I'd like to hear from Ric owners/lovers to learn more about what makes this axe so special to you.

2. Jonki

Jonki I will not slap my Bee!

Oct 14, 2003
    Arendal, Norway
    great sound and good vintage looking

3. Never did, but I like them. That's why I like them. :rolleyes:

4. BassyBill

BassyBill The smooth moderator... Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Mar 12, 2005
    West Midlands UK
    Fair question, well put...

Lots of people like the looks - obviously a personal thing. I love 'em. Rics defininitely have their own sound. Try listening to Geddy Lee (say, "Red Barchetta", when he's playing Ric rather than a Jazz), Chris Squire, or Bruce Foxton (The Jam). My own favourite CLASSIC Ric sound is Glenn Hughes on the live Deep Purple album "Made In Europe". Check my avatar!