1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Rickenbacker with a Pick - WOW

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by nixdad, Mar 12, 2016.

1. nixdad

nixdad

Aug 15, 2008
    Los Angeles, CA
    Boy, did my world just open up.

I'm by no means a newbie to bass, but I've pretty much played with fingers most of the time since I first started playing in 1977. I've been fortunate to have owned somewhere in the range of about 60 basses or so through the years, including 3 other Rickenbackers (2 x 4001's, and a 4003s with a toaster pickup that I had Rickenbacker make for me in the mid-80's, all strung with round wounds) but I also played these with fingers. I was mostly a Fender Jazz Bass guy. I was in the industry for a long time and had access to pretty much anything I was willing to pay for, even though I've never been more than a weekend warrior (I was in a cover band from '79 to '88.)

Four years ago I was very fortunate to be invited to participate in an 8 member acoustic Beatles band with many former bandmates and some other excellent local musicians whom I've known for years.

Fab%208%20white%20letters_zpsnkzipl4h.

We have 2 bassists in the band (one plays percussion when not playing bass.) My buddy Dale plays a Rogue Hofner copy (heck of a good bass for being so inexpensive.) I originally used a P-Bass with flats with the band, then a customized Fender acoustic, then a Fender Starcaster strung with Thomastik T-1 flats (which I still love.) Wanting to complete the Beatles vibe as we were getting more gigs, I bought a new Fireglo 4003 at the end of 2014 (a month before Rickenbacker announced they were reissuing the 4003s...oh well.)