1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Rig for mostly reggae playing

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by ricoj175, Apr 17, 2017.

1. ricoj175

ricoj175

Apr 12, 2017
    I've been playing the Bass off and on for many years, but have never really had to purchase my own rig, so there are a few things Im not entirely clear on and I have some questions.

My local music shop (I'd like to support them) is a vendor for Peavey, Ampeg and Fender. For practicality and affordability sake I would like to stick with a 4x10 cab. But I would also like the option to maybe add another cab in the future. I tried two amps, the Peavey MiniMax (500 watts RMS) and an ampeg SVT pro 7 (1000 watts). Both through two different 4x10 cabs, a peavey headliner and the other through an ampeg classic. I really liked the Peavey one, but would I be able to add another cab to it? The guy at the store said that wouldnt necisarily make it louder, because of the wattage. Would the ampeg be more flexible, in that regard? Can someone explain the how wattage works when matching cabinets and amps? I've figured out, mostly, impedence and ohms. But am still confused on what to look for wattage wise.

Thanks in advance.

2. If your amp will handle the Impedance load, aka total speaker ohms, then adding a second cab is the best way to get noticeably louder.

Most amps will work into a minimum of 4 Ohms (some will go as low as 2 Ohms). That means the total combination of all connected cabs should not be lower than 4 Ohms (or whatever the rating is).