Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

right hand 2 finger players, which finger to you lead with?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Wxp4759cb, Dec 17, 2001.

1. Wxp4759cb

Wxp4759cb

Nov 23, 2000
    Kansas City, MO
    Which finger do you guys start with, pointer or index?
    I start with pointer, but it seems more natural doing index when I'm moving down the neck. I have to focus not to get off.

2. beermonkey

beermonkey

Sep 26, 2001
    Seattle, WA
    I almost always lead with my middle finger, and then alternate between index and middle. I don't think I've ever had an instructor comment on which finger to lead with; as I'm guessing it's totally and completely irrelavent.

3. ButtBass

ButtBass

Nov 14, 2001
    When going down from a higher to lower string, middle. When I go up from lower to higher strings on the neck, index.

4. When I started playing bass 4 years ago my instructor always got on my back for leading with my middle finger. He toldd me that using my index was proper technique. I never did listen to him on that matter. Now I just use whatever feels natural for the song that I'm playing.
    George

5. For some reason it feels more natural for me to play with my middle finger. So thats what I usually lead with, although not all the time. I also do not always alternate. Sometimes(in slow songs) it is easier to just play with one.

:rolleyes:

6. Good point Keith.
    Sometimes alternating fingers isn't required at all. I seldom use 2 fingers while playing a ballad or waltz. I sometimes fall asleep palying these songs but finger technique on slow songs can be just as iportant as it is on fast songs.
    George

7. Steve S

Steve S

Jul 26, 2000
    Index.

8. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany