Right Hand Finger Angle...

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Bass2x, Aug 8, 2005.

1. Bass2x

Jul 25, 2005
    I'm a comeback player that played with a felt pick first time around. Since I'm starting in again with regular practice I want to try using the finger method. It's coming along ok, but it's not quite the secure feel I had with the pick. In fact, on faster passages, I find the two alternating fingers getting out of sync with the beat. I'm chalking that up to as a learning hurdle that I'll eventually overcome.

My question is, at what angle does your fingers attack the strings? It seems a bit faster to angle the fingers towards the back and pick the strings off center of the fingertip, but not as comfortable as attacking straight on (at a right angle to the string). What's best?
  2. SilentSteps

Aug 8, 2005
    I just started learning the bass, and the first thing that much teacher taught me was how to finger-style. He told me to keep the thumb on the string before the string you're currently playing on, and don't pluck it. Just kinda 'glide' over it, and not curl your fingers. Sorry if I can't explain it clearly. So to answer your question, it shouldn't be such a large angle.
  3. Bass2x

Jul 25, 2005
    That seems awkward to me... isn't it hard to change strings that way?
    I rest my thumb on the pickup and reach with my #1 and #2 fingers for the strings. It's easier to reach the E and A strings, so I can see where, in theory, keeping the thumb on the string above makes fingering easier for the D and G strings - just can't get used to the floating thumb. Still searchin for a comfortable position. Thanks for the feedback.
  4. Suckbird

Suckbird Banned

May 4, 2004
    I guess silent steps talk about floating thumb technique..

and no it's not hard to change strings that way..