Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Right Hand finger pains

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by DiG, Apr 19, 2005.

1. Lately I've had bad pains on my picking hand, first 3 fingers, not pinky or thumb, I play fingerstyle and slap, rarely use a pick. It not like calluss pains, it feels like I almost sprained something...

any advice?
    should I see a doctor?

thanks

2. lowphatbass

lowphatbass ****

Feb 25, 2005
    west coast
    Are you doing anything differently? Playing more frequently? Playing harder or longer? How old are you and how long have been playing?

3. im 15, been playing about 2-3 years, i have been playing a bit more frequently, and the new song im doing im playing a fast steady beat which i dont usually do

4. lowphatbass

lowphatbass ****

Feb 25, 2005
    west coast
    I started playing at around the same age you did..I hit some pretty major growth spurts around those and just about everything was sore at one time or another...BUT...I would say your soreness is bieng caused by the fast and steady song you are doing. Fast/steady is a challenging combination and takes time to build-up to...people don't run a marathon their first time out, they BUILD up to it...if the pain is that severe slow down and take some time to recover, If you think you can work through the pain then go for it(if you are considering seing a doctor though, you may want to slow down), but you better make sure your technique is correct and sound or you could be risking long term problems....

5. ive decided to try to not play for a day or two and see if my fingers feel better after that, cause i hadnt had a day i didnt play for 2+ hours in a while

6. Aettis

Aettis

Mar 16, 2005