Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Right hand fingering...

Discussion in 'Ask Michael Dimin' started by AHHA, Jan 22, 2001.

1. AHHA

AHHA

Oct 16, 2000

Hi Mike,

My question is, is it a serious problem that I had better correct now or regret in the future, that with my right hand I start my fingering with my middle finger first and not my first finger. I am self taught and after 10 years have recentley started the journey into theory and music instruction. I lead both up and down ,across the strings with the middle finger.

Thnx, JB

PS; I hope to soon be able to read and finally but all those magazine articles from you to use.

2. Mike Dimin

Mike Dimin

Dec 11, 1999
    Clinician: EA, Zon, Boomerang, TI. Author "The Art of Solo Bass"
    If it works for you, enables you to accomplish what you need and doesn't hold you back from advancing, I would say lead with the middle finger. I would be a bit careful, though about just who you "give" that middle finger too :).

3. ok, well enough fooling around in the other posts.

I have tried finger playing but i just can't get the volume i am used to when playing with a pick. And it is very uneven sounding, eg sometimes its soft, others it pounds. How can i even that out and also get volume??

Merls

4. Mike Dimin

Mike Dimin

Dec 11, 1999
    As for volume, I always rely on amplification - after all, that's its job. The ability to get soft and loud sounds with the fingers is the beauty of it. Learning to control it comes with practice. Also by placing the fingers on different places (i.e. closer to the bridge or over the neck) you can alter the tone of the bass quickly and easily. Playing with alternating fingers can also be quicker.