1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Right Hand Muting

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Orengery, Jan 8, 2016.

1. Orengery

Orengery

Oct 6, 2015
    So I've been playing for around 7 years, and I do believe my technique is good, but I just recently stumbled upon "right hand muting" (floating thumb, moving anchor, etc.).
    I haven't heard about this before, but decided to try and incorporate it into my playing, although I found it hard to get used to. (Go change old habits...)
    So I was wondering, do you guys think this is something I should work on and get it into my playing, or can I live without it. I usually mute with my left hand but I know that's less efficient.
    What do you think?

2. We all have to mute some way or another, if what you are doing now is working, and I think after seven years you would know if it was not, I'd recommend you keep doing what you are doing. If it a'nt broke, why change.

I mute with flats and foam rubber at the bridge mainly because I like the sound. That and then a palm mute does what I need. If what you are doing now works I see no need in changing.

Last edited: Jan 8, 2016
  3. Engine207

Engine207 Losing faith in humanity...one call at a time.

Jul 10, 2008
    Higley, AZ
    I resisted, because anchoring on the pickup was hard habit to break. It took me awhile to get used to, but it was worth it, for me.

4. rufus.K

rufus.K

Oct 18, 2015
    SoCal
    My right hand is on the fretboard. What you're saying makes nonsense to me

Billyzoom and bolophonic like this.
  5. Gravedigger Dav

Gravedigger Dav Supporting Member

Mar 13, 2014
    Fort Worth, Texas