1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Right Hand Technique Questions

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by wishface, Jul 7, 2012.

1. wishface

wishface

Jan 27, 2012
    Hello, I've been playing for around 20 years as a complete amateur. I'm not bad, but I am self taught. My style is probably somewhere between Steve Harris, Geddy Lee, Geezer Butler and Jah Wobble, and I like a variety of styles of music.
    However I have never really found a reliable right hand fingerstyle technique to learn from (all the above are, afaik, self taught). I've been trying to improve it recently, but there are many different methods and I can't decide which is right for me.
    Generally I play with two fingers resting alternately on pickup (my bass guitar isn't very good and it has only one pickup in the middle, occasionally i use the edge of the neck) and A string. This I gather is pretty conventional. My weaknesses are string skipping and open string/muting (particularly when coming down the strings where it's not easy to use the left hand to mute them). I'm pretty good with ghost notes, but muting unused/open strings is difficult and I don't have a reliable technique other than to combien both hands probably not very effectively.
    If you take a riff, like Geddy plays near the end of Cygnus X1, where he plays an octave open E-2nd fret D and then slides that up two frets (F# to 4th fret D) I struggle.