1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Right hand technique - which fingers to use

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by skryptus, Oct 7, 2013.

1. skryptus

skryptus

Sep 14, 2013
    So, I'm new to the bass. I've been playing guitar for a while (first in a church group, but the guitar-bug got to me fast and I've expanded far beyond church music) and have recently taken the plunge to bass (after being introduced to it in the same church group, which also got the bass-bug into me).

So I'm now trying to define my technique, practicing some cool riffs and get the basics into my mind and muscle-memory, so I can get to the good stuff. One aspect I'm trying to evolve is my right hand technique. I know pretty much everyone advises to alternate between the index and the middle finger, and eventually add the ring finger. It's what I was advised to do when I played my first song in the forementioned church group too.

But when I looked at my hand and the way I placed it in relation to the strings, it got me thinking - given the fingers' sizes and their position, wouldn't it be more logic to use the middle and ring fingers instead?

When I'm playing, my hand's slightly slanted position makes those two fingers roughly the same distance from the strings, which is why I'm thinking it would make more sense. Also, when trying it, I found I could get more consistent results (hit both notes the same way) when using this technique - although I'm sure this one is more from the skill I still lack, it still makes me think it's more natural this way.