1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Right hand technique with a French Bow

Discussion in 'Bows and Rosin [DB]' started by arpeggiod, Mar 23, 2006.

1. arpeggiod

arpeggiod

Mar 23, 2006
    Hi everyone, I'm new to the boards. I'm a freshman in music college right now and my main instrument is electric bass, but lately I have been starting the upright.

So my issue: Holding the French Bow.

My thumb is incredibly sore right now. Is this normal? Does anybody have some suggestions, links of good pictures of people holding a French bow etc?

I am not sure where to put my thumb on the frog, and in relation to my other fingers. (I have an idea, but my hand doesn't agree with me).

Do I just have a weak thumb that I need to bulk up?

Any advice or responses whatever would be great.

Thanks again.

2. Marcus Johnson

Marcus Johnson

Nov 28, 2001
    Maui
    Hard to tell without looking at your bow hold, but whenever I used to get pain with the French bow (in the beginning), it was because I was gripping too much, and not relaxing enough. Try just draping your fingers over the top, and make sure that your thumb is relaxed and tucked under a bit...pointing towards the frog end of the bow, not the tip. Make sure that your wrist is nice and relaxed as well. See if that helps.

3. jallenbass

jallenbass Supporting Member Commercial User

May 17, 2005
    Bend, Oregon
    1. Use a sticky rosin such as Carlsson or Nymans
    2. Play close to the frog
    3. Play closer to the fingerboard especially on the E string
    4. Play quietly
    5. Use the weight of the bow only - No pressure
    6. Hold the bow as if it were as fragile as an egg

4. chicabass

chicabass

Mar 18, 2006
    NOT USA
    Longer-term, find a way to hold the bow that is most relaxed within your hand, and with no muscle conflicts.