Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Right Hand Thumb Position

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by Moondog, Oct 23, 2003.

1. Hey Guys

I am a newbie to DB and I'm not sure the correct way to use my right hand thumb. Right now I don't have a teacher. I've played electric bass for years, and have always rested my thumb on tthe string above the one I'm playing. However I have seen some DB players live keeping their thumb anchored under the edge of the fingerboard. Of course the way I've been doing it feels much more natural to me but is this the correct technique for DB? If it makes any difference, right now I'm playing blues, country, bluegrass, and other "roots" music. Thanks for any input/suggestions on this.

2. The best place is on the side of the fingerboard, not underneath. Check all of the past threads re. R.H. technique, there's a lot of good info there.

4. OK, let me rephrase. The best place for me is on the side of the fingerboard. I've seen several techniques, and as with many things in life there is more than one way to skin a cat (no hip jazz parlance intended). What's best for you will depend on your physical makeup, the sound you are trying to achieve, what style of music you play, etc. In addition to watching as many different players as possible, get with a good teacher who can give you exercises for developing your technique.

For me, placing the thumb on the side allows me to use a pincher-like motion, giving me greater leverage to be able to pull more sound out of the string (I use 1st and 2nd fused side-by-side for walking, alternating for solos and super fast tempi). The thumb does rotate towards the back slightly when I play the E string. The other aspect of this placement is that the thumb acts as a pivot point for the larger motion of the whole arm, which to my way of thinking is essential for strong pizzing.