1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Right, novice question about PJ p'ups, and associated electrickery.

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by wheelyjoe, Oct 5, 2010.

1. I'm debating whether to build a bass from parts and was thinking about making it a PJ.

I've found a body and all associated parts, except for pickups/preamp.

I'm really into the J-retro idea of p'ups you can switch from active to passive, and was wondering if anyone could direct to me simple instructions and good parts, or even packages that come with the whole lot?

I'm looking at something pretty decent, EMG/Bart/nord end of the spectrum, but if anyone has any better ideas or anything, I'd be open to that.

I want a good all-round bass, hence the P/J idea.
    I'm not a novice player, as such (I didn't say I was good mind:ninja:), just a complete newbie when it comes to building the damned things... :crying:

If anyone could help it'd be much appreciated...

Ali :bassist:

2. SnakeKappele

SnakeKappele

Sep 20, 2010
  3. SanDiegoHarry

SanDiegoHarry Inactive Supporting Member

Aug 11, 2008
    San Diego, CA
    My favorite arrangement for the old PJ is using Seymour Duncan quarter pounders... they sounds nice and big and, in a PJ arrangement, sound great.

4. But how do you do the whole passive active thing? Is that just in the preamp?

5. Active/passive switching (Which only applies to preamps, NOT active pickups) is done with the addition of a DPDT switch to put the preamp in and out of the circuit.
    4065969204_e9e0cb5e54_o.png