1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Right thumb pain - help diagnose

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by joegrant413, Dec 11, 2016.

Tags:
  1. joegrant413

joegrant413

Dec 6, 2009
    Hi folks, IMG_1399.JPG IMG_1400.JPG

I'm starting to have some right thumb pain. I've been playing bass for about 7 years, and had a good bass teacher a few years ago.

Anyway, I practice every other day, and have started noticing that my right thumb has been bothering me. Usually don't notice it till the next day. The slight pain is at the joint for the thumb and the rest of the hand.

Since Christmas is coming and I'll be practicing and playing more to get ready to play for praise band on Xmas Eve, I want to see if there is some minor adjustment I can make and incorporate soon.

I play a 35 inch scale 5 string MTD Heir. I mostly pluck using three fingers, and typically rest my thumb under the 5th string, below the neck pickup, and against the bass. Attached are a couple of pics.

Fergie Fulton likes this.
  2. Ant Illington

Ant Illington I'm Anthony but I'm only illin' Banned

I've had the same pain and I've found that it's probably because I sometimes get lazy and have my thumb bear far too much weight, oftentimes in awkward positions, without noticing it unless I'm looking for it. This poor form happens particularly when I'm learning... rewinding and figuring fretting hand stuff out... the right hand gets poorly positioned *when not even playing* and gets tortured.

Last edited: Dec 11, 2016
  3. fearceol

fearceol

Nov 14, 2006
    Ireland
    The only thing I can think of that would cause your problem is, as Ant Illington says, you are pressing down too hard with the thumb.

Also, FWIW, your pictures show a fairly bent wrist, which can cause further problems at a later time.