1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Ring Thing, too thingy?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by nextdimension, Aug 15, 2012.

1. nextdimension

nextdimension

Jan 30, 2008
    Austin, TX
    Got the EHX Ring Thing a few weeks ago, mostly for the pitch shifter on it. But I also thought it would be cool to play around with the modulation functions as well. The problem is I can't seem to find a good tone on it that isn't detuned.
    I've never played with a ring mod before but I realized quickly that it can change your note. So while setting up some presets I just ran it into my tuner to make sure I was in tune still. I found that every time I found a nice dirty, synthy sound, I was out of tune. Sometimes I would tweek it until it was in tune but then as I started playing other notes they would not be in tune.
    Is this just the nature of ring mods? Is it always gonna sound bad when I play with my guitarist? I know this thing has a tuning button that will automatically tune to your incoming signal, but this totally changes your tone that you set up and goes out of tune as soon as you play any other notes unless you push it again. Is this just the nature of the beast or am I doing something wrong?
    Like I said I bought the pedal for the pitch shifter and I'm happy with that and I've found I can add a little bit of modulation to it without messing it up. So I will probably keep the pedal. But it would be nice to use the ring part of the ring thing.

2. bongomania

bongomania Gold Supporting Member Commercial User

Oct 17, 2005
    PDX, OR
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs