1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Rio - Duran Duran is kicking my butt.. Anyone else jam this tune

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by ibanezcollector, Jul 20, 2008.

1. ibanezcollector

ibanezcollector Yoyo's Hurt When You Crank It Into Your Face

Feb 18, 2007
    Cleveland Ohio
    Funky bassline and quite quick LOL..

I figured it would be a good line for me to learn since I dont employ to many fast licks in my normal music..

Man I need to work on speed more often this song is kicking my butt..

I started learning it at around 9pm EST tonight and this is what I got so far its 2.5 hours later....

BE WARNED there is some sour notes here and there and some off tempo stuff especially in the chorus that little run is so fast..

http://www.ibanezpodxt.com/Misc/Rio.mp3

2. Thundar

Thundar Don't talk old to me Supporting Member

Kudos! That wasnt bad at all...its a tough groove

3. I play it on the keyboard...hehe!
    Really John Taylor kicks bAss when it comes to that bass...I play My Own Way and whoah! I am still learning how to play!!!
    Your version sounds great! I liked it!!

4. That's pretty dang good! You nail the tone well so it's hard to tell which is the real track which is you.

For me, the really tough part about that bassline is all the ghost notes. My problem is getting them in as subtlely as JT does and still keep time and make it to the next change in time! :meh:

I can get through the entire song pretty well (noodled around with it before a recording session with a drummer and guitarist a few weeks ago), but I'm just playing the main notes of the riff and skipping all the quick ghost\grace notes that JT so skillfully and subtly places here and there!

Hate to admit it, but I had to resort to TAB when learning this one and it noted those ghost\grace notes.