Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Rock and roll bass technique

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by Gordy, Mar 4, 2002.

1. Gordy

Gordy

Mar 4, 2002
    Dublin, Ireland
    I have to learn to play double bass because my band will be playing some 1950's style rockabilly.

From listening to the songs, it sounds like the right hand is doing most of the work, slapping and popping strings etc.

I've been playing electric bass for years (self taught though) and was wondering what tips there are for a beginner — I'm pretty much starting from scratch.
    Thanks!

2. Gordy,if you haven`t done so,check out Rockabillybass.com there is some good info on there with tips etc. a good message board frequented by many slap bass players who you can ask questions and some links to other rockabilly sites.

3. Chasarms

Chasarms Casual Observer

May 24, 2001
    Bettendorf, IA USA
    I am by no means an expert on DB. In fact I just took it up seriously. I too have played EBG for a while. 16 years actually.

BUT, IMHO, to say that the right hand is doing most of the works is off base.

Even when you are only working at the base of the neck, at the 1/2, 1, 2 positions, your left hand gets a heck of a workout.

You have to develop a ton of hand strength and work continously on intonation and the learning the spacing of the longer scale.Try fingering a note at the sixth or seventh tone position (I am not sure what word to use, but knew it wasn't "fret") on the E string with your pinky and then answer which hand is doing the work.

In my short experience, I haven't stopped rehearsing yet because of a raw right hand. Despite using the meat of the finger instead of the tip, my right hand can survive much longer while practicing than can my left.

I squeeze a raquet ball all the way to and from work now as a feeble attempt at getting my left hand in shape for DB.