Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Rock bass player thinking of purchasing a double bass...

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by Knavery, Aug 22, 2005.

1. Knavery

Knavery

Feb 24, 2004
    Denver, CO
    Hello everyone:

I've been playing electric bass for quite a few years, but have pretty much remained in the realm of heavy music throughout that time due to other band member interests. In the last couple of years, I have been listening to a lot of progressive music, and feel I have finally found what I'm looking for. In the last 6 months or so, I've been getting into jazz, and jazz fusion quite a bit, and it's really opened my eyes.

I have lately been thinking of purchasing a double bass, but am not sure if it is COMPLETELY different than the electric bass.

My question is... For those of you that also play the electric bass, how is the transition to double bass? Would I be starting from scratch on a completely different instrument? I have no experience with an electric fretless, and am a little frightened of experiencing this without at least some kind of fret markers.

Perhaps it's just wishful thinking on my part, but I am just fishing for ideas now.

Oh, and I apologize if this has been asked, I tried a search, but had no idea what to use for keywords. Thanks for any input.

2. Phil Smith

Phil Smith Mr Sumisu 2 U

May 30, 2000
    Peoples Republic of Brooklyn
    Creator of: iGigBook for Android/iOS