Rockabilly bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Heavier Than Thou, Jun 26, 2001.

1. Heavier Than Thou

Heavier Than Thou

Jan 25, 2001
    I'm a bass guitarist who's thinking of getting an upright acoustic bass for playing rockabilly music.

I'm pretty much in the dark about upright basses. Is there a special model or type of bass the rockabilly cats are using? What is a 3/4 bass? And what about electric upright basses?

Thanks in advance for your help.
  2. Rockinjc

Dec 17, 1999
    That would be a Kay. This is the most popular bass in Rockabilly music. A 3/4 bass is the standard size and fits nearly anybody.

Getting going with this you have one heck of a hill to climb though. Tone is everything and a subtle animal to tame. The problem stems from the high volume requirements of the genre. You could write a book on all the stuff you have to learn, but I will give a hit list that may get you started.

Buy a plywood bass in reasonable condition… it costs a lot to get these babies fixed so don't think you can get a basket case and have it ship shape for a few dollars. I like if the bass has an ebony fingerboard, nut and tailpiece.

Get Mark Ruben's video. From BTW you can ask Mark stuff too. He is really nice and now runs a store.

Go to shows and jump up on stage after the gig and ask as many questions as the bass player will answer. After talking to a bunch of guys and trying things you will be able to develop your own opinions. Try as many basses as you can. Ask how they pluck and slap, what strings do you use and what pickups are being used.

I use a Barcus Berry pickup system. And have used mics and other pickups. To this end a lot depends on your style, the bass, volume levels and taste. Don’t take anyone's word that one particular system is "best" no matter the circumstances. Decide for yourself. That’s why you try other rigs.