Rockabilly slap tips?

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by Mennie, Mar 29, 2021.

1. Mennie

Mennie

Aug 20, 2018
    Hey guys im a bassist who just made the switch from electric to upright. i mainly play jazz but i need to learn rockabilly slap for an upcoming session. i currently have high tension orchestral steel strings on (came with the bass). any suggestions on new strings or just general advice that could help me out? Thanks in advance

2. I just asked the moderator to move this to the "Double Bass" side for you. ;)

3. bobyoung53

bobyoung53 Supporting Member

Some people use gut strings or Eurosonics but I'll let the upright guys help you, I haven't played upright for some years although I do plan on getting back into it.
    Strings: Choices for Rockabilly/Psychobilly Slap

Last edited: Mar 29, 2021
    HateyMcAmp and Mennie like this.
  4. Mennie

Mennie

Aug 20, 2018
    Thanks!

5. Innovation Silver or Golden Slaps if gut strings are too expensive or need too much maintenance for you.
    Personally I wouldn’t use steel core strings for slap (but I hardly do any slap playing myself) like Eurosonics, but some people even slap Spiro Solo 4/4 downtuned to orchestral tuning.

Mennie and JayLaughlin like this.
  6. mtto

mtto Supporting Member

May 25, 2008
    Los Angeles, CA
    If you mostly play jazz and only need to slap for this one session, my suggestion is Evah Pirrazzi, probably weich gauge. I used to play a fair amount of slap in a klezmer band and Evahs worked for me in that context as well as jazz and classical. If you want something cheaper, there are other synthetic strings. Double bass strings are expensive. I wouldn’t buy a special set of strings for one gig unless it paid really well.

7. mtto

mtto Supporting Member

May 25, 2008
    Los Angeles, CA