RockBass by Warwick

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by luisnovelo, Feb 25, 2002.

1. Warwick is producing this ´economic´ line of basses which include some Corvettes and Steamer standards.. THAT´S GREAT!!!..

It would have been impossible for me to own a warwick till the day I graduated and got a good job, but now, my poor hands can get to hold one of theese.. I haven´t even seen a warwick live ever.. :D (there are no warwick dealers in Latin America at all..and haven´t had the chance to go to the US to check out more basses)

I´m really putting a Corvette 5 string in my list of possible new adquisitions..

2. dreadhead

Feb 1, 2002
    Well, I understand your point of view, but to be truthful Warwick bolt-ons bodies were made in Korea since 1999, if I remember well. Be sure that soon ALL Warwick basses will be made in Korea and only set-up and finished in Germany, to get the right to write "MADE IN GERMANY". What a shame!
    If you could play an early Thumb and then a new one, you would cry.:(
    I remember that the first series of Thumb basses had a beautiful open-grained fingerboards and tops. The luthiers didn't use Kerosene to soften hardwoods, at the time.
  3. I get your point as well.. But I don´t think a can really apreciate differences such as the quality of a bolt on body judged only by its origin.. It´s gotta be sad that things (like basses) lose their quality and touch as they become more commercially demanded...
    But for many young bass players like me, its really good news that basses like theese come up to the market.. I mean, I´m sure, that eventhough theyre made in CHina, and the "RockBass " name displayed on the headstock looks like $%#, they´re MUCH better than some other at the same price range--.
  4. jasonbraatz

Oct 18, 2000
    Oakland, CA