Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

rockbass players...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by nataku, Sep 10, 2004.

1. nataku

nataku

Jun 21, 2004
    San Jose, CA
    i've been in the market for a new bass for a few months and out of all the basses ive tried (in my price range) rockbasses seem to be the best. i've been playing for about 2 years and the corvette basic seems perfect for the type of music i play. i picked up a used one from GC and loved it...until it fell apart :crying: . Luckily GC was nice enough to give me a refund. I just bought a new one off of musicians friend and im hoping i made the right choice. If any one else owns one, do they last very long, or did i just get unlucky with my last one?

any feedback is appreciated

2. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    How exactly did it fall apart?

3. nataku

nataku

Jun 21, 2004
    San Jose, CA
    it had an adjustable nut, which was really nice, but damaged. i didnt notice, since it was internal, and one side of the nut kinda caved in. it wasnt that bad and while i was searching for a replacement nut one of the tuning pegs came loose. i decided it was too much and that a new one would be better.

4. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    Couldnt you have just..tightened/screwed in the tuning peg?

5. nataku

nataku

Jun 21, 2004
    San Jose, CA
    i tried but it kept coming loose, i got tired of fixing it every half hour, and there were more scratches that i had realized on it. but guitar center was cool about it.

6. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    Ah i see, back to your question.. exactly how much money do you have to spend? I personally have not been very impressed with the quality and feel of the Rockbass series and would look for an alternative.

7. nataku

nataku

Jun 21, 2004
    San Jose, CA