1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

RockTEC Metal Worker

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by arbarnhart, Dec 18, 2006.

1. arbarnhart

arbarnhart

Nov 16, 2006
    Raleigh, NC
    Oops - make that RockTEK, not RockTEC. I can't edit that; maybe a moderator can so someone searching in the future will find it...

Before you start rolling your eyes, I did a little research and I know they aren't that great (though every now and then someone raves about them). But I am just getting into this stuff and I figured if I find a working pedal cheap I can mess arounf with it and learn more about them. Anyway, I spy one on eBay listed by someone with good feedback claiming it works fine with a low start and cheap shipping, bid low and no one snipes me. So I paid just under $10 and I got this in the mail today:

rocktek.

I have messed around with it a little and there are some settings that are decent. I have to keep the Level and H-FREQ set pretty low or it just churns out garbage, but I can adjust the L-FREQ and DIST pretty much full range and get some variations from a slightly fuzzy tone to full out metal distortion with lots of "wanted noise" (purposeful controllable feedback). But I have no documentation. It is pretty obvious that the knobs are for distortion, low frequency, high frequency and level is volume/gain/power. Anybody out there who is having good luck with this pedal care to share some info and/or settings?

I wouldn't go out of my way to find one, but for under $10 I am pretty pleased with it.

2. I used to use Roctek stuff all the time when I was younger. They only cost about 15 or 20 bucks most of the time and they sound ok considering the price the only thing is be gentle with them the break really easy.

3. arbarnhart

arbarnhart

Nov 16, 2006
    Raleigh, NC