Rogue VB-100 Violin Bass... worth buying?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by 1313 King, May 10, 2004.

1. 1313 King

1313 King

May 10, 2004
    MO, yo
    Since this is my first post, I'll introduce myself. My name's Zach and I'm new at bass. I've played guitar for nearly a year but I've decided I'm going to pick up bass because lately I've been very interested in learning. So, if I come off as ignorant in my future here at this forum, it's because I am. :D

Anyways, I'm buying a Rogue Violin Bass. I've heard bad and good things about Rogue. I've heard they're decent beginner instruments and I've heard they're crap. I'm mainly getting a VB because of the Macca influence lol. So if you would let me know of your experiences with Rogue, and the VB in particular, I'd appreciate it.

2. josh_m

May 5, 2004
    Davie, Fl
    I've never played this particular Rogue bass but I did pick up one of their other ones just for giggles once. It felt cheap, like the neck was going to fall off if I pushed down on it (which i tend to do while sitting.) The electronics sounded cheap, very weak signal and it distorted easily. A combination of the neck and sound made it very hard to play, it felt dead. I read somewhere that Rogue is a sub-Squire company, which honestly scares me.
  3. Stinsok

Stinsok Supporting Member

Dec 16, 2002
    Central Alabama
    It looks to me that this bass, Rondo's , Jay Turser's were all made at the same factory. Notice the headstock, tailpiece etc. Probably the same bass with different badges. I have noticed that Jay Turser offers one in flame maple. If you are dead set on getting a Hofner knockoff do some price comparisons. I know personally that Rondo offers great customer service if you experience any problems.
  4. King,
    Save your money and get something you're going to really enjoy playing, not something that "fights" you everytime you pick it up.