Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Roland VS890 Studio Set-Up

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by djproject, Apr 24, 2002.

1. My goal this summer is to get a Roland VS890 digital recorder. My intended set-up is to hook it up to my computer (specs will come soon) and use the recorder as a way to record various instrument parts and then send it to the computer for it to be manipulated and altered.

Now what else do I need to complete the studio? (I'm hoping to "rent it out" for small groups so I know microphones will be useful)

Thanks,

DJP

2. I don't know if you have any experience using a digital recorder but from what I've read on a few recording BBS sites the VS890 (and the entire Roland VS series) are quality machines but the learning curve is very steep. I'm just getting into digital recording and I am waiting for a floor model VS840 I just bought to arrive. If I didn't get it so cheap I probably would have bought another unit that is less complicated to operate but I'm on a budget.

Since you are planning on making your purchase this summer you have plenty of time to research the right recorder for you. Buy the biggest machine (track wise) you can afford but take into consideration how many inputs each machine has and how many tracks it can record simultaneously. More is better. Lurk on some recording sites and see what other people in the same situations are using.

What gear will you need to start? I couple decent mics, good set of headphones, a pair of reference monitors and a CD burner will get you going.

Good Luck.

3. SupaFli

SupaFli Guest

Feb 18, 2002