Roman Numeral System

Discussion in 'Music Theory [DB]' started by Michael F Clef, Aug 12, 2020.

1. Excuse me, I'm new to jazz studies.
    I'm a bit old school and I am writing out my own charts, which is another way of saying that I'm too broke to buy an ipad.

Anyway...

If I'm writing a chart to a song that is in 'a minor' no sharps or flats in the key signature, and I'm writing for, say / b minor / E7 / a minor / is it convention to write
    / ii / V / i or / vii / III / vi ?

This is for my own use to make it easy for me, but I guess I may as well learn correctly from the start.
    Thank you.

2. Papageno

Papageno

Nov 16, 2015
    France
    If your tune is in A minor (as it seems from what you describe) you would write:

Am: ii V i

or

Am: iiø7 V7 i (depending on the degree of precision you want to give).

If you tune is actually is C (with E7 being a secondary dominant), you may write:
    C: (ii V7)/ vi

Roman numeral is a tool for harmonic analysis. In the later example, you state that the minor chord vi is preceded by its own ii V.

Michael F Clef likes this.
  3. Carl Hillman

Carl Hillman Supporting Member

Jan 1, 2010
    It is rare to have someone hand you a number chart for a jazz tune. This is probably because the repertoire tends to have more departures from the home key than your average folk, rock, or country song. That makes writing it out in numbers more involved than just a regular lead sheet.

As Papageno mentioned, it is common to use numbers when analyzing tunes, but if you're out playing with someone, 95 times out of 100, you'll be reading a chord chart.

4. Papageno

Papageno

Nov 16, 2015
    France
    This is absolutely true. Yet for yourself, it is convenient to memorize tunes in terms of roman numerals.

For example, if you learn rhythm changes, that is:

A section:
    I vi / ii V / iii vi / ii V /
    I I7 / IV #iv°7 / I vi / ii V /
    Last 2 bars of 2nd A section:
    ii V / I /
    B section:
    III7 / % / VI7 / % /