1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Ron Carter - Is he playing acoustic or electric bass on this?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by gflat, Mar 27, 2015.

1. gflat

gflat

Jan 10, 2009
    Back in 2009 I started a thread asking if McCartney sounded like he was playing acoustic or electric bass on a particular song. Today, I have the same question but the bass player is Ron Carter. The song is called "Beautiful Woman" from the 1969 album Coryell, by Larry Coryell. All it says in the liner notes is "bass." For as long as I've been listening to it on YouTube I always thought it was an acoustic bass. But suddenly it's sounding much more electric to me. Ron Carter did used to play some electric. I remember he did on some of the early seventies CTI recordings.

Anyway, I'm a guitarist, not a bass player, so maybe some bass players can tell me if it sounds like RC is playing acoustic or electric on this. Link below.

Thanks.

2. Jeff Bonny

Jeff Bonny Supporting Member

Nov 20, 2000
    Vancouver, BC
    Electric. Obvious tonal clues aside there is none of his signature vibrato or any slides you'd hear if it were the double bass.

3. Don Kasper

Don Kasper Supporting Member

Another clue, that Ron Carter is playing "electric", is that it is in tune.
    (Yeah, I Said It!)
    Thanks.

Last edited: Mar 28, 2015
    CProvatas, lcdck, 20db pad and 6 others like this.
  4. Jeff Bonny

Nov 20, 2000
    Vancouver, BC
    LOL! For once in my life I was polite and said "signature vibrato" but I was thinking what you just said.

5. gflat

gflat

Jan 10, 2009