Rookie bass player question

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by After Forever, Dec 1, 2003.

1. After Forever

After Forever Banned

Feb 27, 2003
    Detroit area
    I've been playing bass for about 10 months now. I have a 4 string but i think i want to try a 6 string for my next bass for fun. Is this a good idea or should i wait till i get more expirenced?

Besides the obvious 2 string difference, what is different about a 6 string?? Are they harder to play or what?? Do they sound cooler?

Any helpful info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
  2. Depends on how well you know your neck on the 4 string, the 6 is just an extension of what the 4 is.

I wouldn't move up unless you have your neck positions memorized and you are feeling limited by the 4 string.

3. After Forever

After Forever Banned

Feb 27, 2003
    Detroit area
    I actually do feel kind of limited on a 4 string. I played around with a 5 string once and didn't like it, mabey it was just the brand. I figure a 6 string might be well suited for me. They do look rather large though.
  4. Christopher

Apr 28, 2000
    New York, NY
    The simple answer is that a 6 gives you more notes to play with. "Cooler" sounding is highly dependent upon the player. If you want to play melodies and chords in addition to basslines, it's worth looking into.

They can be harder to play, as the necks are wider and if your left hand isn't properly positioned/conditioned, you may find fretting the lower strings difficult. The bodies also tend to be larger and heavier.
  5. Eric Moesle

Eric Moesle Supporting Member

Sep 21, 2001
    Columbus OH
    If you didn't like a 5, odds are you will HATE a 6. Necks are wider and harder on the hands and proper finger positions. Proper string muting is MUCH more difficult, nothing worse than playing on the A string while having to mute the low B and high C from vibrating.